14 Foot Ceilings


Book Club
September 23, 2009, 12:40 pm
Filed under: book club | Tags:

I was so good this month, I actually went!  I hadn’t been for, oh let’s see, months.  And seeing as it’s my book club, well that’s just sad.

This month it was my turn to choose some books.  And this one won out.  “Pride and Prejudice and Zombies” or PP&Z for short, was our book.  I had seen it on many many lists, NYT bestsellers, people were adding it to their goodreads left and right.

I’m totally a sucker for the story, but here’s a little secret.  I’ve never actually read the book.  I pretty much watch the movie any time I see it on tv (like last night, for instance), even though I own the Keira Knightley version, and my mom owns the BBC one.

It doesn’t matter how many times I watch it, I always, ALWAYS swoon for Mr. Darcy.  How can you NOT?

I was a little skeptical of the zombie part, and I wasn’t sure how it would integrate into the story.  I really shouldn’t have been, because on my goodreads I gave it 5 stars.  Everyone seemed to like it, a lot.  The zombies made the story pretty hilarious.  I was reading out loud to my husband (who has been subjected to the movie many, many times), and he even wanted to read it when I was done.  But he’s going to have to wait, until my mother reads it.

Basically zombies are taking over England, and if you are a dignified man or woman, you are trained in the deadly arts.  So naturally the Bennet sisters are, Mr. Darcy is, Mr. Bingley is NOT, Mr. Collins sure as heck isn’t, and Lady Catherine is one of the best zombie killers in all the land.

Even though I have never actually read the original, I’m pretty sure they lifted the story, possibly word for word, and just inserted zombies.  They show up at parties and balls, they hassle travelers, and everyone carries at least a dagger, in case they meet them.  The militia even come to town, just to kill and burn them.

It was a nice quick read (and I don’t know if that has to do with the fact that I have seen the movie so many times), and at times laugh out loud funny.  Definitely highly recommended!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Your book club, huh? 🙂 I too thought the book was excellent and yes, it was the exact P&P text with the zombie storyline over layed. I think Colin Firth really makes Mr. Darcy all that much better.

Comment by Elizabeth

i cant believe you havent read the original!! who arrrre you peopleeee!? ugh! ugh, i say!

Comment by ktravs




Leave a Reply

