14 Foot Ceilings


Book Club
August 16, 2009, 10:57 pm
Filed under: book club | Tags:

Did you know that in between working full time, cooking and baking up a storm, moving to a new locale (and decorating said home), that I also run a book club?  Well I do.  I came across this particular book club in the summer of 2007, when all of my friends were leaving the city and I was looking for a new social outlet.

I went once, had to skip two months, and then ended up running the thing because the girl who started it was moving back to CA.  I happen to like planning things, and I happen to be pretty organized, so I had no problem picking up the reins.  Although my husband liked to tease me for running the thing after I had been precisely once.  Details.

Through my book club I met some fantastic new friends, and have thoroughly broadened my horizons as far as reading is concerned.  I LOVE to read, and have for as long as I can remember, but sometimes you get stuck in a rut.  I love novels about people and their experiences, I like memoirs, I have a soft spot for historical fiction, (I once read everything I could get my hands on about the holocaust, strange, I know) I don’t mind non fiction, I hate poetry, and I like my fair share of the classics.  And yes, some times I will read chick lit.  After a particularly heavy book sometimes you just need an escape.

I’m hoping to share each month’s picks with my internet friends, kind of like a virtual book club.

It should come as a surprise to just about no one that last month we read “Julie and Julia.”  This was among the four books that one of our members chose for the group to pick from (our one rule is that it must be available in paperback, cheaper and usually easier to get from the library), and this is what they chose (this summer yet again I have gone….not even once).  I of course missed the discussion, but I can tell you that I personally really enjoyed the book.

It was one of my genres – memoir AND food lit, and a bonus, it was about a food blogger.  She of course is a different kind of food blogger, I blog to share my recipes and talk about my love of baking and cooking, she was sharing just her experiences as she challenged herself to the task of taking on Julia Child’s main cookbook.

It was definitely a light read, which is perfect during the summer, I had previously read some heavier books earlier in the summer, and I breezed through it pretty quickly.  It was funny and charming, and made me want to take on some sort of personal task as monumental as what she took on.

I highly recommend it, and I bought it as opposed to getting it from the library, so I can pass it along to friends and family alike.  Pick it up, and of course, go see the movie, it was fabulous as well!

P.S. If you live in the Boston area and want to join a social book club let me know!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’ve really wanted to join a book club for awhile. I’d definitely be interested in learning more about your venture. Each time I’ve tried to create one in the past everyone seems to flake out en masse 😉

Comment by Erin




Leave a Reply

