14 Foot Ceilings


Staycation!
August 7, 2009, 12:10 pm
Filed under: life | Tags:

Today marks the first official day of my staycation!  It couldn’t have come at a better time, when I need a break from work and the world.  This summer has been incredibly busy, both in life and at work, and now I’ll have a week to just breathe.

Normally I would be headed to Charleston, SC which also happens to be where I got married, but this summer we decided to stay local.

This weekend we’ll be heading out to the “country” aka my hometown in rural CT to house sit for my parents, who will be in South Carolina.  At the beach.

My hometown is rural and actually quite pretty, although when I lived there I never appreciated it, I just wanted to get the heck out.  So now when I go back, I can appreciate it a bit more.  The rolling hills, the scenery, (the cows), the winding roads, the small town things that you miss in the city, like local lakes, favorite spots to eat at, local ice cream!

My sister in law, her husband, and our not quite 2 year old nephew will also be joining us, so it should be fun.  They’ve never really been, and so we can do all of the “touristy” things, like go to get ice cream, hit up the local winery, possibly pick blueberries at a local orchard, hit up farm stands.

And of course my dad will have stocked the fridge with plenty of beer and wine, so we should be all set!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

