14 Foot Ceilings


Welcome to my Loft
July 27, 2009, 11:16 pm
Filed under: loft

Let me give you a brief tour of my new digs!

When you first walk in, you are greeted by the living area.  Everything is going to be an “area,” as there are no walls, and this place takes open living to the max.  Which is exactly what we wanted, as we love to entertain.

After the living area is the dining area and kitchen.  I love my vintage 50’s table (with new chairs), but I really am in the market for a giant pine farm table with aluminum chairs.  I literally search craigslist every day, and I know someday soon I am going to find it.  I need to find it before Thanksgiving, that’s for sure.

Here is the Ikea shelf that everyone and their mother has.  And we totally need at least one more!  They are so great for dividing rooms, which is what we plan to do in the office area, to separate it from the bedroom area.

Here are a few shots of the bathroom.  It is kind of hard to photograph as it has no natural light, but that doesn’t stop me from trying.  It makes a nice natural break between the main  living space and the bedroom/office area.  I also happen to be totally partial to the color, which I happened to help choose, and the best part was my husband was totally fine with it!

Here are a few shots of the bedroom.  As you can see, we are not afraid of bold colors.  We painted an accent wall dark blue, and I am totally in love.  I now want to paint an accent wall in the front as well, but I was told to just “live in the space” for a while.  But  the front room is all brown leather and no color.

Now, for my two crowning glories.

First is my chandelier.  I wanted a big statement piece for the dining area, and I didn’t want to spend a lot of money.  I found this one in a random shop in the town next to where I grew up in CT, and spent less than $4o0 on it.  It’s not vintage, and I could care less.  It’s exactly what I wanted, and I really didn’t have to break the bank to get it!

My husband also risked life and limb (and electrocution, plus falling to his death) in order to install that beauty for me.  He’s the best!

Here are my two barstools, to go with the giant island we now have.  I have always wanted a kitchen island, and now I have one.  I found these on overstock.com.  They are totally fun and functional, and always are a statement piece.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I am so in love with your home!

Comment by Erin

PS: We have that IKEA shelf too 😉

Comment by Erin




Leave a Reply

